Pequaywan Township was formed in 1980 from a 36.1 square mile area within the Cloquet Valley State Forest in St. Louis County. (See “Pequaywan History” for more information on township history.) It is governed by a Board of Supervisors, consisting of three full-time residents, who meet regularly on the second Tuesday of each month, at 7:30 PM, in the meeting room of the Pequaywan Lake Volunteer Fire Department. 8764 Pequaywan Lake Road (Hwy 44), Duluth. Other government officials are the clerk and treasurer.

Residents vote for officers on a rotating schedule (three-year term for supervisors prior to the Annual Meeting, held in March. Treasurer and clerk are on an appointed positions. Residents also vote on the township’s tax levy at the Annual Town Meeting.

pequaywan signBoard meetings are scheduled each month at the Pequaywan Volunteer Fire Department Hall. (Check the calendar for dates and time.) Residents are invited to attend these meetings which are governed by the Minnesota Open Meeting Law. Minutes of these meetings and notices of any ordinances adopted by the Board will be published on this website.

The main business of the township consists of:

  • Maintenance of a 2.3-mile stretch of West Branch Road (See map.)
  • In conjunction with St. Louis County, the assessment of property within the township for the purpose of taxation
  • Administration of a 34.23-acre parcel of land, bordered by Pequaywan Lake Road and a line south of Rossini Road (See map.)
  • Supervision and administration of elections for local, county, state and federal elections


Due to the threat of the Covid-19 pandemic, the Board of Supervisors of Pequaywan Township will not be holding monthly meetings at the Pequaywan Fire Hall. Instead, they will meet and conduct business in a telephone conference, starting at the scheduled time of the meeting. These meetings will still be open to the public. If you would like to listen in the monthly meeting, please send an email to Deputy Clerk Stephanie Teek at or call 218-525-4068 with your phone number. She will register you for the meeting and send you instructions on how to get into the conference call.



St. Louis County COVID-19 Hotline for the general public:   218-625-3600. Available 8 a.m. – 4:30 p.m.

St. Louis County COVID-19 email for the general public:

St. Louis County website also contains the latest updates

MDH hotline: 651-201-3920  OR  1-800-657-3903. Available 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.

If someone is experiencing symptoms, they should contact their healthcare provider to be screened. If they are planning to go to the ER, they should call first.

Essentia Health Emergency Room:   218-786-4000
Essentia COVID-19 Hotline:   833-494-0836
St. Luke’s Emergency Room:   218-786-5616